

New maritime boundary: between Timor-Leste and Australia Photo: AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT

Timor treaty enters Oz parliament

Treaty establishes new boundary along the median line as well as a special regime for the Greater Sunrise gas fields

Russell Searancke

28 Nov 2018 07:11 GMT

The Australian government has introduced a bill to parliament today to implement the new maritime boundary with Timor-Leste.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Marise Payne, and the Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, Matt Canavan, said in a joint statement the bill covers the core elements of the Maritime Boundary Treaty.

Both parliaments are required to ratify the treaty before it comes into force.

The new boundary follows roughly the southern boundary of the joint petroleum development area, which is effectively the median line between Timor-Leste and Australia.

The new boundary places the Bayu-Undan field exclusively within Timor-Leste jurisdiction, and the entire JPDA, which contains the suspended Kitan oilfield, the Eni-operated exploration permit PSC 11-106 as well as the Chudditch and Kelp Deep gas discoveries.

The Buffalo redevelopment and portions of Blocks WA-18-L and AC/L5 will also fall under Timor-Leste's jurisdiction.

The bill introduced today also establishes the Greater Sunrise Special Regime as an area of joint Australian and Timor-Leste jurisdiction.

The treaty will enter into force, through an exchange of diplomatic notes, only when Australia and Timor-Leste have implemented their respective domestic obligations to give effect to the treaty and when transitional arrangements are completed.

"The Government looks forward to bringing the new treaty with Timor-Leste into force as soon as possible," said the two ministers.

It is understood the parliamentary ratification process has not yet started in Timor-Leste.